Since 1999, the #1 Motorcycling Magazine for Women and the Men Who Ride with Them

Follow WRN on Facebook Follow WRN on Twitter Follow WRN on Pinterest Follow WRN on Instagram
Women Riders Now - Motorcycling Lifestyle. Women. Men. Men Riding with Women.

Since 1999, the #1 Motorcycling Magazine for Women and the Men Who Ride with Them









Yamaha & Star Motorcycles Reviews

59, Female, and Formidable On Her Motorcycle

How proper training, safe riding gear, and defensive riding skills boosted this rider’s confidence

10/23/2017, By Alison Prentice, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Its never too late to start riding a motorcycle. This woman began her motorcycle journey at 59, and did it right with proper training and education.
Read the full story


Making the Dream of Riding Come True in Your 40s

Find out how a childhood passion for riding motorcycles becomes reality

By Sandy McGreeghan, Emsdale, Ontario, Canada
Spending four years riding her first motorcycle, a Yamaha V Star 250, before trading up to a Harley Sportster 883 was the right way to go for this new rider.
Read the full story

Motorcycle Review: 2015-2016 Yamaha FZ-07

A fun first bike for just $7,000

7/7/2015, By Tricia Szulewski, photos by Riles and Nelson
The bargain-priced 687cc Yamaha FZ-07 shares its FZ-09 sibling’s styling and cross-plane engine platform, but in a smaller, more user-friendly package. New riders and commuters can both appreciate the FZ-07’s light weight and easy maneuverability. But with plenty of torque and power for weekend warriors, the FZ-07 is, simply put, two-wheeled fun at its best.
Read the full story

MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: 2013/2012 Star Motorcycles Road Star Silverado S

A big cruiser for smaller women

1/29/2013, By Michelle Baird; Photos by Riles & Nelson
Star Motorcycles’ Road Star Silverado S is a 1670cc, 773-pound heavyweight cruiser with a fairly long, 66.5-inch wheelbase, which might put off women riders concerned about riding a big bike. However, the Silverado’s controls are well within reach for the average-size woman.
Read the full story

MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: Star Motorcycles V Star 250

A beginner bike that’s a keeper

6/12/2012, By Michelle Baird; Photos by Tom Riles
Sensible riders cut their motorcycle teeth on an easy-to-ride, small-displacement bike, but as skill and confidence grow, so does the hunger for a bigger motorcycle. Many of these little trainer motorcycles that are so accommodating at parking lot speeds lose their composure on the highway, if they can reach highway speeds at all.
Read the full story

Motorcycle Review: 2011 Star Stryker

A user-friendly custom cruiser

12/12/2010, By Tricia Szulewski, Photos by Riles and Nelson
With a super-low 26.4-inch seat height and a weight nearly 100 pounds lighter than the Raider, Star Motorcycles predicts that its new Stryker will appeal particularly to female riders. To find out if that's the case, writer Tricia Szulewski flew out to Austin, Texas, for the official press introduction of the new Star Stryker. In her article, she shares her comprehensive review and an account of her test ride in the open Texas countryside.
Read the full story

MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: Yamaha's TMAX Maxi Scooter

Feels like a supersport motorcycle, rides like a scooter

7/31/2009, Story and photos By Pamela Collins
"Supersport" designated motorcycles command awe and appreciation for their combination of sleek, go-fast looks and sporty, go-fast performance. On the other hand, scooters often don the less-sexy monikers of economical, practical, and even cute.
Read the full story

READER MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: 2007 Yamaha 250, 2005 Harley-Davidson 883C and 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster Nightster 1200

By Vicky Childers, Patrick, South Carolina

6/26/2009, Vicky's height: 5 feet 5 inches
Bike No. 1 is a 2007 Yamaha V Star 250. This was my first bike. I bought it brand new expecting to ride it for several years. This is a great starter bike. It is lightweight and easy to handle. I did not feel intimidated learning on this bike. The ride was so smooth and easy (though I didn't realize this at the time), and I didn't know that a lot of the bumps on the road were even there.
Read the full story

MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: 2009 Yamaha FZ6R, Frugal & Fun

A motorcycle you could actually downsize to

5/29/2009, By Tricia Szulewski, Photos by Brian J. Nelson & Tom Riles
I don't know about you, but I'm getting mighty tired of hearing the doom and gloom in regards to the state of our economy. The news is littered with dour predictions and sour phrases such as "economic uncertainty." Personally, I'd rather focus on the good things coming out of this new era of fiscal responsibility. Rather than panic about the bottom line of my 401k statement, I check out how many shares I've got, and am committed to hunkering down for the long-haul.
Read the full story

READER MOTORCYCLE REVIEW: 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100

By Heidi Roy, Ontario, Canada

5/1/2009, Heidi's height: 5 feet 4 inches
I ride a 2001 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic and absolutely love it. My husband passed it down to me, and it never lets me down. I have ridden to Alaska and California from my home in Ontario, Canada. My odometer reads 61,250 miles, and I plan to ride it for many more. Long trips and short trips are a joy and comfortable to boot.
Read the full story

Page 1 of 2 (13 items)
Prev
[1]
2
Next