What gear do you wear?

Discussion on riding gear for women

What gear do you wear?

Postby jmdezines » Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:37 am

Hi there!
This is my first year riding and I'm still trying to figure out what I want to wear and what I should wear when riding.
Here in Ohio you are only required to wear a helmet when you have a permit and for the year after your endorsement. I prefer my full face helmet, though.
I wear some thin Gorilla gloves I picked up at home depot now that its warm and I usually wear over the ankle boots.
If I know I will be on the highway, I wear my leather jacket but sometimes riding through the park and around town I don't wear a jacket but I feel like I need to be covered.

How do you all dress in warm weather?
Dress differently when highway riding?
Gloves with armour/protection?

I see everything on the street from women in reflective vests, helmets and riding boots to those in just a tiny tank top and some sunglasses. I know its a personal thing too but curious as to how you determine what you wear.

Thanks girls!
Jess
1979 Yamaha XS650
jmdezines

Re: What gear do you wear?

Postby monica » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:49 pm

I follow my riding coach advice; all the gear, all the time. Doesn't matter if I'm doing a quick errand or on the highway. Helmet, of course. Protective gloves. Motorcycle boots with great tread and ankle support. Chaps or armored pants. In the summer, a mesh jacket with armor at shoulders, elbows, and back. I had originally bought too much bike for me, topheavy, and went down in a parking lot practicing, at about 5 mph. The Levi denim jeans didn't tear, but a peg or floorboard must have dinged me. I thought I just had a scrape, but it was a deep trauma, and got infected, and still is a bit tender after ten months. Don't want that to happen again. When I went down leaving a parking lot on my recent trip, I remember having to pull my leg out from under something. But I had no bruises, no problems or scrapes at all.
monica