Another lesson learned - Parking Garages

A place to reach out to others

Another lesson learned - Parking Garages

Postby deMoMo » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:55 pm

Today I put on my big girl panties and rode my bike to work. The ride in went really well until I got to the parking garage. I scanned my card on the scanner, pulled into the garage and quickly realized that it was way too dark with my sunglasses on. But with a full face helmet I couldn't just hold my glasses in my mouth until I parked (on the 7th floor). And with my gloves on I couldn't easily maneuver my glasses and my pockets or the clutch or pretty much anything else. I ended up pulling off to the side and putting my glasses in a pocket. I'm not very good at having quick reactions to unexpected scenarios that I haven't prepared for and I didn't make a good decision about where to pull off....luckily no one was coming through at the time! But next time I will have a plan in place to deal with my sunglasses before they are a problem.

The second lesson that I learned is that I should just squeeze around the gates when I'm leaving the garage. I didn't have any issues on the way in, but on the way out I scanned my card at the gates (there are 2 of them) and the arm went up and went down again before I could get through. Since I have to reach out to swipe the card I have to be in neutral so I can't immediately pull forward, and I don't know if it would even help if I did! This was a tough lesson for me to learn because I ended up needing to back up my bike several feet. Up a ramp. I was not happy!

Please tell me that someone else on here has done the same thing? Misery loves company. :) :roll:
Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling
deMoMo

Re: Another lesson learned - Parking Garages

Postby BlueHD4me » Thu Sep 29, 2016 7:07 am