Another Short - Older Newbie

Who are you? Where are you from? What do you ride? Share a little bit about yourself here.

Another Short - Older Newbie

Postby Geckolvr89 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:11 pm

Hi all - I'm from Vernon, B.C.and just bought a HD 750. I'm 5'1 and am 61 years old. I have a CanAm Spyder which I have been riding for 4 years. Feel super comfortable on it - in fact took a trip down the Baja this winter on it. I took the safety training course 4 years ago but feel like I am starting all over now that I am switching to two wheels. Went out with my husband yesterday - down to the parking lot where I started practicing my long wide figure eights and doing a lot of stop and starts - dropped the bike once:(. Am finding it hard to get the feel of the clutch and throttle though I guess I can't expect much from my first time out. I wonder if other women had the same anxiety about getting out each time - I feel nervous but know I should just get out there!!! Ahhhhh - what have I gotten myself into? Any comments will be greatly appreciated!.
Geckolvr89

Re: Another Short - Older Newbie

Postby dbsteffy » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:49 am

Hi Geckolvr89 and welcome. You're almost starting over again, going from 2 wheels to 2 but you're at least 50% ahead of most newbies and know how and what to practice. Yeah, dropping the bike is a bummer, it happens, been there, dropped that, hope I won't do it this year. And yes, you have to get out there, put your butt in the seat, get miles under you, each outing will be better, you will take 2 steps forward and a half back. Stay positive, we 60-ish women can get it done, just like the younger ones, may take a tad longer ;) .
I'm curious why you want to go to 2 wheels from the Spyder.
Brenda

Not stopping now.
dbsteffy

Postby Geckolvr89 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:29 am

Thanks for your reply - you're right - we 60-ish women can get it done - my new mantra will be - "I can - I can - I can" ☺️